burrito – a tragedy

order:
perusing the menu at Casa Paco
the first food group I encounter
the waitress said it’s better than the taco
I had no reason to doubt her

burrito:
wrapped in a soft flour shell
the ingredients I savor
it was crafted very well
for me to taste the flavor

meat:
whether chicken, beef, or pork
shredded meat, the finest filling
whether in hand or with a fork
to eat it any time, I’m willing

beans:
mashed and refried into paste
the small nutritious legume
cooked and seasoned to taste
pause to swallow, then resume

cheese:
queso brings me to my knees
with its fat hydrogenated
oozing when I give a squeeze
gooey flavor, much anticipated

digestion:
as we leave I start to shiver
then an unexpected stumble
when my intestines start to quiver
and my stomach starts to rumble

driving:
hesitant to sit in my car
‘cause I don’t want to soil it
I’ll be wishing on a star
when I’m headed for the toilet

finale:
I know I’ll have to raise my voice
when at last I plead for help
tomorrow I’ll regret my choice
I won’t give good reviews on Yelp

Leave a Reply

