shampoo obsession

showering one morning, using my shampoo
a universe was found in the ingredients there
laboratory experiments only known to a few
I never realized what was going in my hair

hydroxypropyl methylcellulose
sounds like alcohol and wood
I didn’t learn much chemistry
I was never very good

at deciphering complex formulae
and chemical diagrams
ammonium laurel sulfate
perhaps it’s found in Spam

methylisothiazolinone
your name eats at my soul
were you planted by the government
for subversive mind control?

Acetomidopropyl trimonium chloride
propylene glycol, D&C red and blue
all suggest dark thoughts of suicide
were I to drink this vile shampoo

Tetrasodium EDTA, water (purified)
2-bromo-2-nitropropane-1,3-diol
I think I want to run and hide
or maybe surrender and end it all

When I’m no longer obsessed with shampoo
perhaps I’ll study cologne
for now your ingredients remain unknown
methylchloroisothiazolinone

 

(2004)

Leave a Reply

